Diversity Catalyst Team


The College of Agriculture Diversity Catalyst Team is modeled after the President’s Commission on Diversity and Inclusion at Colorado State University. The team works to be a catalyst for positive change that enhances the campus climate for all people and removes persistent barriers that inhibit the success of members of our College community, especially those from underrepresented and historically marginalized populations. This team will hold the College accountable for promoting inclusion, integrity, respect, service, and social justice, which are the tenets of the university’s Principles of Community. We help units and the college develop and implement their Diversity and Inclusion plans, serve as a resource, and initiate activities that foster diversity and inclusion. Additionally, we encourage and provide opportunities for training in social justice in the College. We also advise the College leaders, leadership within the individual units, and hold each of us accountable as the College moves forward with its Student Success & Diversity Enhancement Plan.


The College of Agriculture Diversity Catalyst Team fosters a college environment that welcomes, values, and affirms the contributions of all students, staff, and faculty members.

Please use the following resources for help with any ongoing issues, or for training.

Diversity Catalyst Team Members – we are here for you!

  • Individuals in the College of Agriculture with social justice training
  • Creating Inclusive Excellence Program
    • names with links to webpages
  • Faculty Institute for Inclusive Excellence
    • names with links to webpages
  • Social Justice Leadership Institute
    • names with links to webpages
  • Safe Zone
    • Individuals with university-wide training

Resources around campus

The team was formed October 2017, under the direction of Executive Associate Dean James Pritchett. Team members include 2-3 representatives (aiming for at least one staff member and one faculty member) from each department, including College advising staff.

Team members must have training in diversity and inclusion through one or more of the following programs: The Faculty Institute for Inclusive Excellence, The Creating Inclusive Excellence Program, The Social Justice Leadership Institute, The Social Justice Training Institute,[H1]  or attendance at NCORE. Relevant alternatives to these programs may be approved after discussion with the DCT and the Associate Dean.

Members serve 3-year terms, with the opportunity for renewal. Prior to the end of an individual’s 3-year term, a call for nominations (self-nominations welcome) will be made. If more than one person is nominated, the department or unit will vote. All faculty and staff members of the department or unit are eligible to vote.

How we work

The Diversity Catalyst Team meets at the beginning of each year with members of the College of Agricultural Sciences (CAS) leadership team to discuss new or ongoing activities in each department as well as key college-wide initiatives that support the Principles of Community as outlined above. At this time CAS administrators will present their key initiatives and implementation plans that will enhance the Principles of Community in our college. The Diversity Catalyst Team provides feedback to CAS administrators on these plans. At the end of the academic year, the Diversity Catalyst Team provides the CAS Dean with a written assessment of the impacts of the initiatives in promoting the Principles of Community in our college, as well as recommendations for the following year. The CAS Dean then responds in writing to this document. These written recommendations and responses will be provided to the community as a resource on the website and inform the Diversity Catalyst Team priorities for the next year.

Dr. Ruth Hufbauer (Chair)

Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management

Dr. Terry Engle

Professor, Animal Sciences

Tim Jedra

Animal Sciences

Cini Brown

Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management

Andrew Norton

Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management

Beka Crocket

Dean’s Office

Katie Hartmann

Agricultural and Resource Economics

Michael Martin

Agricultural and Resource Economics

Jessica Davis

Horticulture and Landscape Architecture

Tracy Smith

Horticulture and Landscape Architecture

Meagan Schipanski

Soil and Crop Sciences

Keely Mendocino

College Representative – President’s Commission for Diversity and Inclusion

Shannon Archibeque-Engle

VP for Diversity Office representative

James Pritchett

College Leadership, Ex officio

Contact CSU Equal Opportunity Privacy Statement Disclaimer

2018 Colorado State Universtiy, Fort Collins, Colorado 80523 USA