Skip to content

⚠️ Information and Updates Regarding COVID-19's Impact on the College of Agricultural Sciences

Loomis named AERE Fellow

Dr. John B. Loomis was named AERE Fellow by the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists at their annual meeting on June 9.

John B. Loomis, Colorado State University, has been a prolific and influential scholar in the area of nonmarket valuation, identifying cutting edge topics and methodologies. Over the last 30 years, he has authored or co-authored 224 refereed journal articles, co-authored three books, and written 71 proceedings papers or book chapters. He has made significant contributions to contingent valuation, travel cost modeling, and the hedonic property method. The 1991 American Journal of Agricultural Economics (AJAE) article: “Statistical Efficiency of Double Bounded Dichotomous Choice Contingent Valuation” (with Hanemann and Kanninen) has become the third most cited AJAE article of all time and the most cited article published in the last 25 years. In 2009 this article was given the Publication of Enduring Quality Award by the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association. The 1991 Land Economics article “Confidence Intervals for Evaluating benefits Estimates from Dichotomous Choice Contingent Valuation Studies” (with Park and Creel) was the first to outline a method to estimate confidence intervals for dichotomous choice WTP models. It has become the fourth most cited paper published in Land Economics. He has other highly cited papers in that journal plus the Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, Ecological Economics (e.g., ecosystem service valuation, T&E species Meta analysis) and the AJAE (e.g., count data models).  Loomis has also been an important mentor to many graduate students. In the last 20 years, he has served as major professor for 56 graduate students and has served on the committees of another 98 students. He has played an important role as co-editor of the AERE Newsletter since 1998, as well as serving as AERE Vice-President in 2000-01 and as an AERE board member in 1993-1995.

Contact CSU Equal Opportunity Privacy Statement Disclaimer

2018 Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado 80523 USA