Skip to content

Welcome to the Weed Research Laboratory at CSU!

The Weed Research Laboratory at Colorado State University is a collaboration among four CSU faculty: Franck Dayan, Todd Gaines, Scott Nissen, and Phil Westra. Research focuses mainly on weedy species including management and herbicide resistance, and other projects include crop/herbicide relationships as well as soil/herbicide relationships. Our main goal is to support sustainable weed management in crops, rangeland, aquatics, and natural areas. More About Us.

The Weed Research group won the College of Agricultural Sciences TEAM research award for 2019! This award is given to internationally acclaimed research teams that demonstrate a record of collaborative, interdisciplinary research and scholarly activities that have contributed to the advancement of science and achieved a positive impact on end users.

News: This is where you can find out what has been happening in the Weed Lab!

The Western Society of Weed Science annual meeting was held in Denver, CO in 2019 and most of our group was in attendance.

At the meeting Rachel Seedorf received the Rite Beard Endowment Travel Scholarship. Shannon Clarke received a first place award and Rachel Seedorf received a second place award in the Rangeland poster competition. Abby Barker received a first place award in the Basic biology poster competition. Hudson Takano received a first place award in the Basic biology orals competition.

At the 2019 annual meeting of the Weed Science Society of America in New Orleans, LA six of our graduate students attended and gave talks.

Olivia Todd received a first place award in the PhD oral section, Hudson Takano and Mirella Ortiz both received third place awards in the PhD oral section.

Some of our researchers attended the XXXI Brazilian Weed Science Congress in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

At this conference Hudson Takano received two awards: 1st place oral presentations and Best paper published in Planta Daninha Journal 2016-2018.

In August one of our graduate students, Abby Barker, received the FFAR Professional Development Fellowship. This is an industry-academia collaboration to better prepare future industry leaders for their careers. Read more here: FFAR Fellows 2018

ConGRADulations to our recent graduates!

Dr. Anita Küpper successfully defended her PhD dissertation on March 20th. She will be moving on to her new job with Bayer in Germany this summer!

Dr. Eric Patterson successfully defended his PhD dissertation on April 6th. He will be moving on to his job at Clemson University this summer!

Mirella Farinelli Ortiz successfully defended her MS thesis on April 17th. She will be continuing on towards a PhD with Dr. Franck Dayan here at CSU!

Leave a Comment

Contact CSU Equal Opportunity Privacy Statement Disclaimer

2018 Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado 80523 USA